Bernese Award for Environmental Research

Current award

Award ceremony at the Dies academicus

On the occasion of the 183rd Dies academicus 2017 at the French Church in Bern, the two winners of the Bernese Award for Environmental Research 2017 were honored for their work.

Berner Umweltforschungspreis
Joachim Frey (Commission President), Miriam Zemanova (Main Prize), Rahel Jud (Recognition Award), Thomas Breu (Commission Member) Photo: Agnes Frey

Main Prize

The Main Prize goes to Dr. Miriam Zemanova whose PhD thesis “Combining genetics, ecology and modelling to understand the invasion of Arion slugs” showed how the spread of the slug, Arion vulgaris, can identify it as an invasive species, using genetics, ecology, and modelling. It also shows how the invader has replaced endemic slug species such as Arion rufus, due to its faster growth and earlier reproduction, and how the hybridization of this invasive species with endemic slug species can lead to new and hitherto unknown interactions with the ecosystem.

Recognition Award

The Recognition Award goes to Rahel Jud who demonstrated in her Master’s thesis, “A paper tiger running loose. Side effects of the REDD+ policy in the province of Jambi, Indonesia”, that the CO2 emissions trading to fund the long-term protection of forests (REDD+, Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and Forest Degradation ) can lead to significant negative side effects on the local population outside of the defined protected areas, and thus indirectly to the further disappearance of forest zones.

2017 Call for Applications

The Bernese Award for Environmental Research aims to promote disciplinary and interdisciplinary research in environmental sciences/sustainability at the University of Bern. The 2017 award is made possible by the financial support of CSL Behring AG and Energie Wasser Bern.

The award, granted every two years, targets researchers whose work makes a relevant contribution to society or lays the foundations for a better understanding of environmental and sustainability problems and their solutions. Applications from all disciplines and fields of science are accepted. The prize aims particularly at young researchers.

The deadline for nominations ended on 4 January 2017.

Nominations for 2017

Here is a list of the submitted works for the 2017 prize.