# Bernese Award for Environmental Research Information sheet on the 2019 call for applications

#### The award

The Bernese Award for Environmental Research aims to promote disciplinary and interdisciplinary research in the environmental sciences/ sustainability at the University of Bern. As in previous years, the 2019 award is made possible by the financial support of CSL Behring AG and Energie Wasser Bern.

Granted every two years, the award targets researchers whose work makes a relevant contribution to society or lays the foundations for a better understanding of environmental and sustainability problems and their solutions. Applications from all disciplines and scientific fields are accepted. The prize is directed particularly at young researchers.

## **Prize money**

The prize money in 2019 totals CHF 15,000. The Committee may, within its financial means, grant additional recognition awards.

### **Application**

For nominations, the research studies must be proposed by postdoctoral researchers who themselves were not involved as authors. A nomination must be submitted **electronically** (.pdf), and comprises the following:

- The nominated paper
- A review of the research, by the nominator or a third party, containing a rationale for the nomination
- The nominee's CV, including a list of publications

### Please note the following points:

- The award may be granted to one or more persons, whereby at least one significant contributor to the nominated paper must be a past or present researcher at the University of Bern. We also welcome contributions based on a collaboration between the University of Bern and other research institutions.
- In the case of co-authorship, the individual contribution(s) of the nominee(s) must be clearly identified in the review accompanying the nomination.
- Nominated papers must either have been published, or accepted for publication. However, the publication date of published papers may not be older than two years before the nomination deadline.
- Papers are accepted in an official language of the Canton of Bern (German or French), or in English.



Universität Bern, CDE www.ufp.unibe.ch

Kontakt: Tamara da Silva umweltforschungspreis@cde.unibe.ch







# Bernese Award for Environmental Research Information sheet on the 2019 call for applications

- If a member of the Committee has been involved in the paper (e.g. as co-author or supervisor), this must be clearly stated; the concerned Committee member shall not participate in the evaluation of this particular paper.
- The Committee reserves the right to create and make publicly available a list of all submitted papers and summaries thereof.

#### **Timeline**

- Submission of applications: Nominations for 2019 must include the documents outlined above and be sent by 11 January 2019, electronically, to: umweltforschungspreis@cde.unibe.ch. If the file size is too large to send by e-mail, a CD may be sent to the Committee Secretariat (Kommission für den Berner Umweltforschungspreis, c/o CDE, Mittelstrasse 43, 3012 Bern). Both nominator and nominee will receive a confirmation of receipt.
- Award: The main prize as well as any recognition prizes will be granted at the *Dies academicus* at the University of Bern in December 2019.
- Public event: The award winners will present their research at a public event during the Spring semester 2020.

#### **Procedure**

The Committee of the Bernese Award for Environmental Research is responsible for all issues related to the award. In particular, it sets down the procedures for submission and assessment, and evaluates the submitted work. The Committee may consult external experts for the assessment and evaluation of the works. The Committee's decision is irrevocable and there is no right of appeal.

#### **Award Committee**

President: Prof. Dr. Joachim Frey. Vice-president: Prof. Dr. Axel Franzen. Faculty members: Prof. Dr. Thomas Breu (Direktor des CDE), Silvan Brügger (Delegierter der StudenInnenschaft), Prof. Dr. Tobias Haller, Prof. Dr. Andreas Lienhard, Prof. Dr. Silvia Schroer (Vizerektorin Qualität), Prof. Dr. Helmut Segner, Prof. Dr. Heinz Veit, PD Dr. Stefan Wunderle (Delegierter des Mittelbaus), Prof. Dr. Mathias Wirth. Non-faculty members: Dr. Adrian Zuercher (CSL Behring AG), Dr Walter Schaad (Energie Wasser Bern). Committee secretariat: Tamara da Silva, Melchior Nussbaumer (CDE).

This information sheet is also available at: **www.ufp.unibe.ch/** 



Universität Bern, CDE www.ufp.unibe.ch







